Block updates on router level???

General Forum for talking area for B series TVs.
Post Reply

W3CB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:12 pm

Block updates on router level???

Post by W3CB » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:01 pm

Block updates on router level

Post by blackbox » Sun Dec 20, 2015 8:51 pm

Here I won't detail how to use your router, you're supposed to know it :)

You have to block these domains (=ALL URLs containing, including https!!):
msecnd.net
samsungotn.net
otn.samsungcloudcdn.com
I'm curious. What router/firmware do you have that can block specific https urls?

zoelechat
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 7931
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:32 pm
Location: France

Re: Block updates on router level???

Post by zoelechat » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:03 pm

One supporting dnsmasq :)
I do NOT receive any PM. Please use forum.

W3CB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:12 pm

Re: Block updates on router level???

Post by W3CB » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:23 pm

Yeah, i just read about that on some post for ClearOS, https://www.clearos.com/clearfoundation ... cebook-com ...not many do though.
Friday, January 06 2017, 09:15 AM - #Permalink
I have found the most effective way to do this is via DNS (dnsmasq)

Add the lines below to /etc/dnsmasq.conf

address=/encrypted.google.com/127.0.0.1
address=/facebook.com/127.0.0.1
address=/twitter.com/127.0.0.1
address=/plus.google.com/127.0.0.1
address=/youtube.com/127.0.0.1
address=/instagram.com/127.0.0.1
address=/itunes.apple.com/127.0.0.1
there using a host file? to redirect to localhost.

zoelechat
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 7931
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:32 pm
Location: France

Re: Block updates on router level???

Post by zoelechat » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:39 pm

Indeed tweaking hosts file is ok too.
I do NOT receive any PM. Please use forum.

W3CB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:12 pm

Re: Block updates on router level???

Post by W3CB » Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:24 am

zoelechat wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:39 pm
Indeed tweaking hosts file is ok too.
so that's not what there doing? how do I go about doing this on my ASUS RT-AC66U then?

asiersan
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:30 am

Re: Block updates on router level???

Post by asiersan » Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:03 am

You must use ab-solution for asus merlin firmware.

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/relea ... ion.37511/


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk

W3CB
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:12 pm

Re: Block updates on router level???

Post by W3CB » Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:20 pm

asiersan wrote:
Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:03 am
You must use ab-solution for asus merlin firmware.

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/relea ... ion.37511/


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
Thats absolutly fantastic, thanks alot!!!

Post Reply

Return to “[B] General”