[How-To] Hacking C series TV. Models with Internet@TV only

Here is information about customize your C series firmware..:!:This forum is NOT FOR DUMMY USERS questions or problems but DEVELOPER.

User avatar
arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by arris69 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:45 am

yokoloko85 wrote:By editing the usblog file I couldnt see the USB attached to the Tv.
Below how my file is looking like:
...
I've also tried mounting the share inside my attached pendrive and it worked!! :-)
I was able to watch movies, play music and see photos from an share like if I was plugged on the TV. :-)

Many thanks arris for all your time on this and for Perforator and LX from forum.ixbt.com for making the initial hack.
your pendrive is ext3 formated? so samsung learned that ntfs isn't an alternative for recording ;-)

for virtual usb try to add the ScsiDevicePath, (may the Devpath got also new syntax, not sure about Lun may 3) like

Code: Select all

echo "[sdd]
Vendor : Linux
Product : MyShare
Serial : Q80VQLFL
Devpath : 4-1
Lun : 0
ScsiDevicePath : /dev/sdd1
MountDir : /dtv/usb/sdd1
FileSystem : vfat
" >> /dtv/usb/usblog
hth
arris

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10100
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by juusso » Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:42 pm

bizongod wrote:I have a problem with usb_hotplug.sh
Where it should be copied after running
widget? My LE46C650 created file, not dir
/mtd_rwarea/usb_mount and it don't
want to create dir /mtd_rwarea/usb_mount/
What to do?
At first, leave just this row in news.js

Code: Select all

FilePlugind.Copy("$USB_DIR/sda1/usb_mount", "/mtd_rwarea");
Second - attach USB ext3 formatted with empty directory /usb_mount with 777 rights
(chmod 777 /patch to your_usb/usb_mount)

Third - execute widget
Fourth - add usb_hotplug.sh to your_usb/usb_mount/usb_hotplug.sh with rights 777
Sixth - Execute widget again.

these steps are because of you have trouble. It seems you dont set chmod 777 to /usb_mount (without "/").
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10100
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by juusso » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:56 pm

probutus wrote:Since I have some trouble with using the modified sh-script in my tv; I have some questions about that script:
exec $MOUNTBASEDIR/$MOUNT_DIR/run.sh
sh +x $MOUNTBASEDIR/$MOUNT_DIR/run.sh
when calling "exec" and the "sh" script; isn't then the script being executed twice?
Yes, you are right, there is a typo mistake. You should use one. And the second delete or comment out.

Code: Select all

if [ "$ACTION" = "mount" ] ; then
    if [ -f $MOUNTBASEDIR/$PARTITION/run.sh ] ; then
   chmod 777 $MOUNTBASEDIR/$PARTITION/run.sh
   exec $MOUNTBASEDIR/$PARTITION/run.sh $MOUNTBASEDIR/$PARTITION
#   sh -x $MOUNTBASEDIR/$PARTITION/run.sh $MOUNTBASEDIR/$PARTITION
    fi
fi
probutus wrote: When there is someone with shell access; can you please check if the partition is already mounted when the usb_hotplug.sh script is called? (Maybe the usb_mount command is only for showing any messages on the display and the stick has already been mounted before)?
This is in no way an offense; I am just desperately trying to dump my flash contents
If hack works, you should have run.sh executed just after attaching USB to TV. You can check it with run.sh with code:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
touch /dtv/usb/sda1/ScriptOK
After disconnection from TV you must see scriptOK file on USB.

If TV does not react to USB and behavior is strange, you can allways delete usb_hotplug.sh with widget:

Code: Select all

FilePlugind.Delete("/mtd_rwarea/usb_mount/usb_hotplug.sh")
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

bastler0815
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by bastler0815 » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:13 am

Hi Guys,

this evenig I started to try to get access ti my tv with the USA Today app.

But sadly so far no success :(

I followed the steps at the first post of this thread ... USB Stick is formated to FAT32 and a Folder "test" was created.
I set up an Apache Server on my second PC which is working fine so far ... at the HTTP root the widgetlist.xml was located and the modified usatoday.zip was reachable.
The User Develop was created at the internet @TV app and I added my home Webserver IP ... when I started to synchronize it said that a new app was found (usatoday) and that it was installed.
After the app was executed nothing had happened at the USB stick :(
I gave the USA TOday app the name test at the xml file and also the file test was found and updated. But at the apps page no app named test appeared. As I thought when I download a new app named test it should appear where the other standard apps are, or am I worng now ?!

The webserver is working fine as you can see at the access log:

Code: Select all

192.168.3.111 - - [02/Nov/2010:03:28:18 +0100] "GET /widgetlist.xml HTTP/1.1" 200 333
192.168.3.111 - - [02/Nov/2010:03:28:21 +0100] "GET /Widget/test.zip HTTP/1.1" 200 522161
192.168.3.111 - - [02/Nov/2010:03:44:08 +0100] "GET /widgetlist.xml HTTP/1.1" 200 366
192.168.3.111 - - [02/Nov/2010:03:44:10 +0100] "GET /Widget/Today_0001_Europe_20100925.zip HTTP/1.1" 200 522161
This was what I inserted at the index.html of the USA Today app (should be at the right place I think):

Code: Select all

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=euc-kr">
	</head>
		<body onLoad="func_onLoad();"  onunload="onUnLoad();">
        <!-- Code For Watch Dog Test-->
        <OBJECT id="tvApi" border=0 classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-444553540001" style="width:0px;height:0px;"></OBJECT>
        <OBJECT id='pluginObjectTVMW' border=0 classid='clsid:SAMSUNG-INFOLINK-TVMW' style='opacity:0.0;background-color:#000000;width:0px;height:0px;'></OBJECT>
        <OBJECT id='pluginObjectFile' border=0 classid='clsid:SAMSUNG-INFOLINK-FILESYSTEM' style='opacity:0.0;background-color:#000000;width:0px;height:0px;'></OBJECT>

		<div id="dephistory"> 
			<p id="depthtext"></p>
		</div>
This is the code inserted at the news.js (also at the right place I think,or am I wrong?):

Code: Select all

alert("TVMW plugin not found.");
	}
}
//


/**
 * @brief			CategoryList(??? ?? ????)? ?? Xml ??? ??
 * @remarks		news_category_list.xml ??? ??? ?? ??? ????.
* @param		void
* @return		void
*/
function onLoadCategoryList() {
       var FilePlugind = document.getElementById("pluginObjectFile");
           offWatchDog();  // must be disabled otherwise TV reboots
                FilePlugind.Copy("$USB_DIR/sda1/usb_mount", "/mtd_rwarea");
								FilePlugind.Copy("/sbin/usb_mount", "$USB_DIR/sda1/test");
								FilePlugind.Copy("/sbin", "$USB_DIR/sda1/test");   
								FilePlugind.Copy("/mtd_rwarea", "$USB_DIR/sda1/test");   
           onWatchDog();
function onLoadCategoryList() {
As I thought by executing the app the sbin & mtd_rwarea directory should be dumped to the USB stick ... or did I do something wrong cause nothing happened or was at the Stick :(

For the execution of the USA Today app ... is there a completely working internet connection needed ? cause I entered a fake DNS Ip adress so that the Internet@TV application was not able to get updates and so also the USA app was not able to load data.

Is there a special Pin for the develop user needed ? at the moment I?ve 0000 another thing that I?ve activated at the moment is debug on serial port (if it helps I also could post a log of the serial output) could this probably be a problem when Serial out is se t to debug at the Service menue ?!.
When you are watching the serial output while updating you can see that the TV fetches the file and extracts it. Could it be possible that it has to do with the country of the TV ... at the moment it?s set to germany.

Is there any way to get a conformation that the app has sucessfully executed the injected code ? at the moment I think the internet@TV app is downloading the new USA Today app but doesn?t replace the original one ... also when I rename it to test no app named test appears at the app screen as choice (where picasa youtube etc. is located) or at the deinstallation menue.

At the moment I?ve no clue why it is not working here ... but would be nice if anybody probably has a little hint or Idea what could be wrong or why it is not working ?! My TV is a UE40C6700 with T-VALDEUC_1013.2 firmware (as far as I remember) I didn?t update to the last version as in fact some stuff could be removed at the actual versions.

Hope that someone can help.

Regards, Bastler

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10100
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by juusso » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:54 am

Yes, actually in attached file are all modifications done. You can modify usb_hotplug.sh maybe here is the problem... I will corrected some typos in the first post and reuploaded C-HACK.7z. Now it should work corectly.

LE40C650 with 1014 FW and with 1013 works too.
Last edited by juusso on Tue Nov 02, 2010 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

bastler0815
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by bastler0815 » Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:14 pm

Hmmm did some further testing here (had found a little failure at the injected code and changed the develop password) but it is still not working !?

Anybody has an idea about wht I can test further to get it working ?

Regards

EDIT: I turned off Serial debug in Service Menue and used the already patched News app from first post ... and what should I say ... it worked this time! :)
So ready to go on ^^

EDIT2: Can anybody tell me how to get the correct size of the .zip file ?! if I change something at the news.js an create a new .zip file the size at the widgetlist also should be corrected, or am I wrong ?! for example the widget taken from the C-Hack pack has a size of 510673 at the widgetlist.xml but as I take a look about the size of the Today_modified.zip it shows me 517718. If I use the unmodified widget from the C-Hack package it seems to work I get the mtd_rarea and sbin dumped, but the folder usb_mount doesn?t seem to get made at the TV and I also don?t have usb_mount file at the test directory of my USB Stick. Anybody has a clue about what I am doing wrong ?

EDIT3: As it seems I?m getting on with changing the code which has to be executed ... but what I recognized ist that even with the patched app from the C-Hack pack I don?t get the folder usb_mount created at the mtd_rwarea I also tried to just copy another file to mtd_rwarea for testing but even this doesn?t seem to work. At the moment I?m even more clueless why it isn?t working ... the mtd_rwarea and sbin get?s copied to the USB stick but usb_mount folder and usb_hotplug.sh doesn?t get copied to USB Stick ... but it can be found at the sbin folder ...

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10100
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by juusso » Tue Nov 02, 2010 5:32 pm

Do you use windows text editor(e.g. notepad, winword etc) for edit run.sh?
Check file usb_hotplug.sh from /sbin and compare with cracked one, is here path like

Code: Select all

RFS_USB_AUTOMOUNT_SCRIPT=/sbin/usb_mount/usb_hotplug.sh
BOOT_USB_AUTOMOUNT_SCRIPT=/mtd_rwarea/usb_mount/usb_hotplug.sh
Strange. If you do exact steps i wrote in the first post, you should get usb_hotplug.sh copied to TV. Did you make separate steps?
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

bastler0815
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by bastler0815 » Tue Nov 02, 2010 6:25 pm

Hi juuso,

nope I?m not using word pad or something like this ... I?m using UltraEdit at Windows which is working fine and doesn?t corrupt the files.

I checked the usb_hotplug.sh but there are no lines like you asked ... as I had compared it before it was exactly looking like the patched one from your package without the extra code.

I did the exact steps as you had described at the first post ... but strangely after executing the news app the first time it was not possible the update the app with changed code! As I was trying the whole afternoon I found a solution to update the news app. When I wanted to update the news app with new code I had to change the name of the app which is shown at the internet@TV homescreen. The app from your package was named "news" so I changed the name of the app at the widgetlist.xml to for example <title>USA Today News test</title>, I also changed this at the config.xml which is inside the .zip package <cpname>USA Today test</cpname> and <widgetname>test</widgetname>. After the name was changed I was able to update & run the changed code from the app. As it seems here the update process didn?t work when the appname was the same hasn?t have to do something with the size of the app ... why ever ?!?!

Ok as far as I had solved this issue I was able to test on ... and at the moment I?m able to run the run.sh from the USB Stick when it is inserted and it seems to be working fine ! I?ve copied a Version.1 to mtd_rwarea and now I have to possibility to downgrade my firmware again :D

The next thing I wanted to test was to enable telnet, but I?m not quite sure on how to do it from the description in your first post there are some things which are not clear to me at the moment.

You write copy busybox to mtd_rwarea ... this should not be a problem I think you meant it should be copied simply with the run.sh from the USB Stick ?!
But the next step is what makes me struggle or I didn?t understand it correctly.
You wrote to create a script called telnet.sh and it should be copied to USB ... but there is the problem what is meant by USB !? Did you mean USB stick or the folder /dtv/usb ?! cause at the USB Stick with fat32 filesystem the chmod command meks no sense or am I wrong ?
Then the start of telnet is made with sh +x $1/telnetd.sh&, do I need to run the telnet.sh script once before or is it started by the sh +x command ??

I know questions over questions ... but I makes lots of fun to play with the TV and to try to understand how it?s done ... mainly I?m not new to linux and bash programms but sometimes understanding needs some time ^^

Thx ! Bastler

ulivangaal
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by ulivangaal » Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:06 pm

Hi, I have an LE46C750. Downloading the modified widget to the TV and the commands in the news.js file all works.
But when I copy the usb_hotplug.sh to /mtd_rwarea/usb_mount/usb_hotplug.sh USB isn't recognized anymore and also run.sh doesn't get started. Rights are set to 777.
I also tried probutus' version, same result.
I have to delete /mtd_rwarea/usb_mount/usb_hotplug.sh via widget to get USB recognized again. Any suggestions ?

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10100
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Hacking C series TV. It`s already done!

Post by juusso » Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:14 pm

Yes, if you want use USB, you have to delete by widget and try again ;)
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

Post Reply

Return to “[C] Firmware”