[TDT] Games and Emulators

Here are software that related with Samsung C series TVs, applications, programs that will run in your TV or computer...:!:This forum is NOT FOR USER QUESTIONS or Problems.
dksoul
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by dksoul » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:16 am

tusko wrote:Sorry for the off-topic but if our TVs are powerful enough to run a MSX or Commodore 64 emulator *gasp*, that would be awesome (for me, anyway) :D
It should be enough, but we can't know for sure until someone ports an emulator ;)

dksoul
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by dksoul » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:20 am

Freeciv has been ported to TDT!
To play it you MUST add a swap drive/file, otherwise your TV will simply reboot when you try to start a new game!

User avatar
erdem_ua
SamyGO Admin
Posts: 3093
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Contact:

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by erdem_ua » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:14 pm

Leaving a USB flash at usb port is enough to run Civ?
Or users needed to setup swap manually?
I think you can automatize that if there is USB flash at port.

dksoul
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by dksoul » Sun Jan 30, 2011 2:28 pm

erdem_ua wrote:Leaving a USB flash at usb port is enough to run Civ?
Or users needed to setup swap manually?
I think you can automatize that if there is USB flash at port.
It's not enough.
Users need to setup swap manually and be aware that they cannot remove the PEN with swap still mounted/undergoing the unmount process (it has happened to me, more than once.... :oops:)
Besides, swap space is not Freeciv-specific, it is meant to be used by any application so it should not be handled here! Don't you agree? ;)

User avatar
erdem_ua
SamyGO Admin
Posts: 3093
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Contact:

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by erdem_ua » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:02 pm

So what is the solution? A different app for swap creation?
Also what's problem with pulling USB that has swap file on it?
TV could restart itself without problem, right? So there is no problem.
You can also unmount that swap file and delete it at exit of FreeCiv.

dksoul
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by dksoul » Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:28 pm

erdem_ua wrote:So what is the solution? A different app for swap creation?
Also what's problem with pulling USB that has swap file on it?
TV could restart itself without problem, right? So there is no problem.
You can also unmount that swap file and delete it at exit of FreeCiv.
IMHO that is not the right way to do it. Do you really believe that every game/application/wtv should be setting up its own swap space? And that the TV should behave oddly if you pull the USB drive until it eventually reboots?

dksoul
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by dksoul » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:40 pm

Two new ports: Fuse and OpenLieroX

User avatar
erdem_ua
SamyGO Admin
Posts: 3093
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Contact:

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by erdem_ua » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:52 pm

Whats wrong with it? Yes it might be not "right way" for PC but its embedded. :)
Also we can't run 2 games in once with that platform. So each application doesn't have it's own swap file, actually there is only one swap at time.
And does every game really require swap? It's bad. I just found that approach more pragmatic than trying to mount SWAP file by hand. Choose is yours. But think about users who don't aware from what swap file is :)

dksoul
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:13 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: [TDT] Games and Emulators

Post by dksoul » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:28 am

erdem_ua wrote:Whats wrong with it? Yes it might be not "right way" for PC but its embedded. :)
Also we can't run 2 games in once with that platform. So each application doesn't have it's own swap file, actually there is only one swap at time.
And does every game really require swap? It's bad. I just found that approach more pragmatic than trying to mount SWAP file by hand. Choose is yours. But think about users who don't aware from what swap file is :)
You're probably right (even though I still don't like messing with the swap here :P)..
I'll add a swap file to it tomorrow ;)

EDIT: Swap file added to Freeciv binary package! It will be activated before the game starts and deactivated when it exits (wait about 15-30 seconds before removing the USB drive).
Last edited by dksoul on Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “[C] Software”