Page 3 of 4

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp?) FIX

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:19 am
by VooDooShamane
I might sound noobisch but I thought we have root access to the system files and can change them?
Isn't it possible to change the call in the firmware files?
Redirect it to a local file or nop the whole call?

regards

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp?) FIX

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:25 am
by zoelechat
VooDooShamane wrote:I might sound noobisch but isn't it possible to change the call in the firmware files?
Redirect it to a local file or nop the whole call?
I thought we have root access to the system files and can change them?
No, only way to change something in firmware is to patch it in memory while running. As soon as you're able to take over (on rooted TV) it's already too late, internet connection has been checked a while ago. As root generally need internet connection to work, it's not worth :)

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp?) FIX

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:17 am
by ocean
Does root really need full Internet access? My init-scripts are started correctly even if tv tells me it just can connect my router...

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp?) FIX

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:11 am
by zoelechat
ocean wrote:Does root really need full Internet access? My init-scripts are started correctly even if tv tells me it just can connect my router...
I lost root here after a few reboots. I think it's more likely to happen on Skype based rooting methods (no web->no Skype->no root), and if you have no root yet you simply can't launch any widget so no hope, that's why I said "generally" ;).

Anyway, problem solved on Samsung's side it seems...

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp) FIX

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:38 pm
by blc
Just a heads up, this seems to be relevant again.

http://www.samsung.com/global/products/ ... ink/us.xml is now reporting "HTTP 301 Moved permanently" and it forwards to HTTPS.

TV tries to follow that and crashes upon SSLv3 negotiation.

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp) FIX

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:02 pm
by mcbane
Is this happening since today? My F-Series TV (old Firmware, with old UI) is telling me, since today, there is no internet connection. But of course in real there is internet connection. I can ping google or something else when I'm connected to the tv via telnet.

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp) FIX

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:20 pm
by matrixabc
Today my F-series also telling me : "there is no internet connection". Off course internet it is. Something happens is Samsung server

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp) FIX

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:23 pm
by sectroyer
Setup your own dns server and put check file there :) I even have custom server for date/time stuff :D

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp) FIX

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:36 pm
by zoelechat
sectroyer wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:23 pm
I even have custom server for date/time stuff :D
Congrats :)

Re: TV reports no internet connection (temp) FIX

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:45 am
by blc
Do we know where this url is coming from? Some binary or?

It's not changeable I suppose.