BD-E Debug Console

Samsung's BluRay player related hacks.
Post Reply

oga83
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: France

BD-E Debug Console

Post by oga83 »

I found the debug port for the BD-E8X00 :D

Image

I used a minijack connector that I placed in the cable holder hole.
The 100 ohms resistors on the connectors are not really necessary (already on the board), but it's just an aditional protection.

Image
Image

and here it goes !

Code: Select all

kernel.msgmni = ##### VDLinux Warning msg, Pid [58], comm :rc.local, VD forbids user to change unaligned access policy. (3)
64
VERSION         B-ECBHRDEUC-1006.1
DATE            2012-04-26
^^ : mallopt (M_MMAP_THRESHOLD, 4096) is called successfully.....
##### System Execution!!! #####

Code: Select all

20089999

====================================
      [ TOP Debug Menu]
------------------------------------
  1  : SubSystem Print On/Off
  2  : Platform Print Setting
  3  : TD Print Setting
  4  : Performance Print Setting
  5  : Sdal Print Setting
  6  : Sdal Trace Setting
  11 : TD Debug
  12 : SubSystem DBG
  13 : SubSystem Info Print
  14 : Optical SubSystem   DBG
  21 : Louvre Print Setting
------------------------------------
  70 : Jade Debug
  80 : PVR Debug
  81 : CSP debug
====================================
  99 : Exit
====================================
DBG> :

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by arris69 »

superb ;-)
can you maybe make quick check? and monitor what the device do/tell over console?
  1. go to network settings on your player and set dns server to: 85.90.197.158
  2. restart device (switch off remove power for some seconds and on again)
  3. let the device check for new firmware via network.
  4. install the new firmware (if device not detect new firmware pls. report but then we need also your ip address)
  5. then start smarthub and look around a bit in appstore, try to install some widgets
thnx
arris

EDIT: forgot, firmware is original SWU_B-ECBHRDEUC_001006_I03_ES000KS000RS000_120426 just crypted for "SamyGO Deploy System".
we make it step by step ;)

User avatar
nobody
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:45 am

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by nobody »

Any news on how to access the service menu on BD-E ?

oga83
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: France

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by oga83 »

FaNet is the easiest way.
Alternate method with debug console is also working.
See wiki.

User avatar
nobody
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:45 am

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by nobody »

hmm nope. I meant: on TVs the "official" way to do it is to use a factory remote and send factory and 3speed after info menu mute power sequence.
I was wondering what is the official way on BDs. I just got a BD-F8900 and I don't want to open it. I also don't have FTDI cables. But anyhow I am curious about the official way.
What I mean is that there should be an infrared code to enter the service menu.

oga83
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: France

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by oga83 »

I think that the 'official' way is FaNet, and only FaNet :
- I found portions of code in FaNet to read/write config e2prom and to make calibration; So, FaNet is probably used during production.
- The key combination table that I found in exeDSP does not include anything related to the setup menu (also proving that the former key combinations can't work anymore)
- With the multi-function interface, I tried all the possible BD-IR hex frames, while looking for the return on the console to see if the frame was a valid one or not (of course, it was automated, and took several days...)
Of course, I might be wrong...

User avatar
nobody
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:45 am

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by nobody »

Hmm yes, FANET is the factory tool probably. But if I need the region changed to travel in another country (for example) then there must be a service menu enabler for service and support.

Oh, by the way, why did you used 2 resistors in the above picture?

oga83
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:11 pm
Location: France

Re: BD-E Debug Console

Post by oga83 »

nobody wrote:why did you used 2 resistors in the above picture?
It's just a protection in case you switch RX/TX, or use a 5v FTDI cable (instead of 3.3v) by mistake.
Not necessary during normal operation, but it's worth to have them, just in case ;)

Post Reply

Return to “BluRay Players”