can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Here for general support for D series TVs, request and problem solve area.

Mosquito79
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: Germany, Hamburg

can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by Mosquito79 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:26 pm

Hi,
I?ve got an external USB-HD attached to my TV. First Partition is FAT. Second Partition is NTFS. I need Write-Permissions for the NTFS Partition to send Data from PC over Network. So I decided to use NTFS-3G to solve this Problem. But everytime I try to mount the NTFS-Partition, I get an error-message:
@ phpsysinfo $ source /dtv/SGO.env

@ phpsysinfo $ umount /dtv/usb/sda2

@ phpsysinfo $ ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /dtv/usb/sda2
fuse: mount failed: Invalid argument
My strace (only the last informations after strace command):
@ phpsysinfo $ strace ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /dtv/usb/sda2
SpoilerShow
...
open("/dev/null", O_RDWR|O_LARGEFILE) = 107
close(107) = 0
stat64("/dtv/usb/sda2", {st_mode=S_IFDIR|0755, st_size=40, ...}) = 0
open("/dtv/fuse", O_RDWR|O_LARGEFILE) = 107
getuid32() = 0
getgid32() = 4294967295
mount("/dev/sda2", "/dtv/usb/sda2", "fuseblk", MS_NOSUID|MS_NODEV, "allow_other,blksize=4096,fd=107,"...) = -1 EINVAL (Invalid argument)
write(2, "fuse: mount failed: Invalid argu"..., 37fuse: mount failed: Invalid argument
) = 37
close(107) = 0
fsync(106) = 0
fcntl64(106, F_SETLK64, {type=F_UNLCK, whence=SEEK_SET, start=0, len=0}, 0xbeb5cd68) = 0
close(106) = 0
brk(0x33000) = 0x33000
brk(0x32000) = 0x32000
exit_group(21) = ?
And my fuse:
@ phpsysinfo $ ls -al /dtv/fuse
crw-rw-rw- 1 root 0 10, 229 Jan 1 00:04 /dtv/fuse
I think there goes something wrong with fuse...but I don?t know.
Please, help me to solve this Problem. The Function to copy contents over the air to the tv attached usb-hd was the main reason for me to use samygo. Would it help to uninstall and reinstall samygo with develop-account in smarthub?
TV: UE40D7090 // FW: T-GAPDEUC_1018.0

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by arris69 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:55 pm

Mosquito79 wrote:...Would it help to uninstall and reinstall samygo with develop-account in smarthub?
don't think it will help then ntfs and fuse never get changed. whats if you format the hd with xfs or some other file system where tv can write?

Mosquito79
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: Germany, Hamburg

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by Mosquito79 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:03 am

Sorry, that?s not possible. MKVs are mostly bigger than 4 GB (FAT can only handle Files up to 4 GB) and the NTFS-Partition is about 2 TB big, with many mkv?s. I really don?t want to split them all. There must be a solution to mount ntfs...ntfs-3g and fuse. Aren?t there newer versions? Why can other users mount their ntfs-partitions?
TV: UE40D7090 // FW: T-GAPDEUC_1018.0

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by arris69 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:30 am

Mosquito79 wrote:Sorry, that?s not possible. MKVs are mostly bigger than 4 GB (FAT can only handle Files up to 4 GB) and the NTFS-Partition is about 2 TB big, with many mkv?s. I really don?t want to split them all.
then format it as xfs, if you have it plugged to tv and not to your pc then you can it access over ftp or samba share...
There must be a solution to mount ntfs...ntfs-3g and fuse. Aren?t there newer versions?
as you know from samsung firmwares and generally from all other software, you don't need newer version, you need a working version...
Why can other users mount their ntfs-partitions?
dunno

DEUS
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: Germany

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by DEUS » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:48 am

  • 1. did you tried to reformat the disk?
    2. with what Version of windows you created the ntfs partition?
    3. can you try to create it with win2k or XP if not done already, there are some changes in ntfs with Vista and 7.
    4. can you mount it under linux? Partedmagic (LiveCD) or something similar?
    5. run a disk check on it? (windows own tools like Scandisk)
    6. what disk is it, partitiontable GPT or MBR ( size of Disk <2TB? )

Mosquito79
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: Germany, Hamburg

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by Mosquito79 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:57 am

OK, thank you. Format as XFS is the last solution I would choose, if nothing other helps. It is possible that my firmware (1018) restricts the mounting? Perhaps it would help to revert Firmware back to 1015 from Samygo-DNS? Next possibilitie is to try NTFS-3G Versions directly from Tuxera? Perhaps with Fuse integrated?
did you tried to reformat the disk?
Too much Data on that Disk and I have no chance to backup them anywhere.
with what Version of windows you created the ntfs partition?
Windows 7
can you try to create it with win2k or XP if not done already, there are some changes in ntfs with Vista and 7.
I could try it with USB-Stick for testing....but as I said: Too much Data on that Partition.
can you mount it under linux? Partedmagic (LiveCD) or something similar?
I will test it soon.
run a disk check on it? (windows own tools like Scandisk)
I will test it.
what disk is it, partitiontable GPT or MBR ( size of Disk <2TB? )
It?s MBR.

I hope my answers can help to limit the the problem to a minimum.
TV: UE40D7090 // FW: T-GAPDEUC_1018.0

DEUS
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: Germany

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by DEUS » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:11 am

that was quick answer ;-) not bad. i can mount ntfs on mine but d6500. so it might be a size issue or a NTFS Version Issue or FS-Error. Try with smaler size USB first. if this works you have to try some other of the things listed above.

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by arris69 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:26 am

Mosquito79 wrote:...

Code: Select all

@ phpsysinfo $ source /dtv/SGO.env

@ phpsysinfo $ umount /dtv/usb/sda2

@ phpsysinfo $ ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /dtv/usb/sda2
fuse: mount failed: Invalid argument
...
one thing, can you try pls:

Code: Select all

@ phpsysinfo $ source /dtv/SGO.env

@ phpsysinfo $ umount /dtv/usb/sda2

@ phpsysinfo $ mount -i

Mosquito79
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:20 pm
Location: Germany, Hamburg

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by Mosquito79 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:06 am

nothing happens after mount -i
TV: UE40D7090 // FW: T-GAPDEUC_1018.0

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: can?t mount ntfs partition with NTFS-3G

Post by arris69 » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:27 am

Mosquito79 wrote:nothing happens after mount -i
ok,
and what about: (replace <....> whit your correct entries)

Code: Select all

mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda<....> /dtv/usb/<...>

Post Reply

Return to “[D] Support”