[How To] Get root access on F series

Here is information about customize your F series firmware.

User avatar
bugficks
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by bugficks »

no idea, im more puzzled what gcc/ld did :)

Lordbyte
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Lordbyte »

Tamagnun wrote:P.S.: but the question is... why this libSkype.so is working well on hundreds of F-series TV?!?!?! :shock:
And just as many E-series, - or more. F-series is pretty new.
I provide NO assistance by PM, unless absolutely necessary. Please ask questions in dedicated topics.

Tamagnun
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Tamagnun »

bugficks wrote:no idea, im more puzzled what gcc/ld did :)
Waht's the meaning of gcc/ld, please?
And IDA (referred to the libSkype.so file)?
Sorry for my ignorance... :oops:

Write you tomorrow evening, after my test.
Thank you
Regards

User avatar
bugficks
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by bugficks »

gcc=compiler, ld=linker, ida=disassembler

Tamagnun
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Tamagnun »

Ok, thank you for the explanation of the acronymous.

Last question: during widget installation all files under /data folders into SamyGO Widget.zip package are copied into the widget folder into the TV? That sounds as I'm free to rename run.sh in run.s (or make a copy of it) into the zip file before to install it, repeat the installation and the script will be on the TV at the next boot time?

Thank you
Ciao

User avatar
bugficks
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by bugficks »

data is extracted when you run widget (rooting) not on installation of widget.
yar you could also make a copy, so you have run.sh and run.s in zip.
add run.s to zip and restart whole rooting procedure, just to be safe :)

Tamagnun
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Tamagnun »

Yes yes, we are saying the same thing: files from the widget.zip (included run.sh and data.zip from /data folder) are expanded and copied onto the TV at installation time, data.zip is expanded in /tmp/bin (by run.sh -or run.s ;)-) at TV boot time.

I've found in data.zip other copies of AutoStart and libSkype.so files -it seems they are exactly the same copied from the USB key during the widget execution-, these are useless in this tool version for F-series, isn't it?

Now I'm at work, these evening I'll test is run.s will be started by libSkype.so and the root will be completed properly!

Thank you for your assistance.
Ciao

User avatar
bugficks
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by bugficks »

no idea :)

Tamagnun
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: Italy

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Tamagnun »

Ops... another idea...

run.sh (and now also run.s) must be granted with chmod 777 or similar in order to be executable at TV boot time, I haven't found this grant excalation anywhere... it will be granted by the altered libSkype.so before to execute it?

I don't know if this question is for you or for juuso...
Ciao

User avatar
bugficks
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:56 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by bugficks »

shouldn't matter as its called system(sh script) and not just system(script)

Post Reply

Return to “[F] Firmware”