[How To] Get root access on F series

Here is information about customize your F series firmware.

MikeyBoy
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:42 am

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by MikeyBoy » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:47 pm

digiwatch wrote:Great Forum!
I installed Samygo ok and I can access the TV via FTP. In which file of the TV can I retrieve the recorded movies? Do I need to make any changes in order to watch on a PC?
Thank you for your help in advance
Use this: SamyGO PVRDecoder for E/F series

digiwatch
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:29 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by digiwatch » Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:41 pm

@MikeyBoy

Thank you for your quick reply. Your hint works great.
Is there a way to move the decoded files back to the usb drive to watch the decoded movie on the TV again? In the TV file tree I could not find the usb drive.

Lordbyte
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Lordbyte » Mon Dec 02, 2013 6:47 pm

You should find your "first" USB-device in /DVT/USB/SDA1 ..

However, why copy back the decoded movie ?? ... just keep original on USB as long as you want :-)
I provide NO assistance by PM, unless absolutely necessary. Please ask questions in dedicated topics.

MikeyBoy
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:42 am

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by MikeyBoy » Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:14 pm

Just put the decoded files on an NTFS partition of the hard disk, via USB cable on the PC.

I did this because i replaced my old external hard disk with a new one, and i noticed two side-effects: 1) Skipping (arrow left/right) is instantaneous, much better than with PVR recordings. Presumably because the TV doesn't have to decrypt the files on-the-fly anymore? 2) If the aspect ratio changes mid-video, the TV doesn't notice it, you have to set the correct AR manually.

As for point 1), it's a bit of a shame that skipping became so sluggish on my F-series. Before i had a C-series and it was much faster there for PVR recordings. They must have changed something with the encryption of the files that makes it so slow now. Skipping in normal video files from NTFS is fast and without delay, like it should be.

brooqs
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 2:49 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by brooqs » Sun Dec 08, 2013 11:54 pm

Hi thx for everything your work awesome.

I have new samsung UE46F6800 tv and try root every step OK and now enter the telnet and ftp everything looks great but not.

When i try to telnet 192.168.1.101 to my tv via telnet opening shell>

when i type t ls only listing /tmp directory files i can copy file only this directory not /etc or /usr or /bin is this known bug?

Another thing is this possible to run openssh-server on my tv. I think this possible but when i try to free -m command

Code: Select all

shell>free -m
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:           605          601            4            0          274
-/+ buffers:                326          278
Swap:           99            0           99
shell>
i think free memory only 4M and ram very low

actually i want to install transmission to my tv but i think not possible for this free memory

P.S: my firmware version 1110

Code: Select all

shell>uname -a
Linux (none) 3.0.33 #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Aug 6 10:38:03 KST 2013 armv7l GNU/Linux
shell>
So what can i do now? push hacking to go triump or uninstall skype and samygo to back jailed life

Thanks for advice and help.

Threshold
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:33 am

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Threshold » Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:49 am

Hi everyone,

I don't quite understand this part: Download archive data and extract it "as is" to root of fat32 USB, attach to TV.

I need to format the usb drive I will use for recording as fat32?
I think it is already formatted that way by my other tv can anyone please confirm it? http://prntscr.com/2a14re

Also which one is the "root folder"?
I have removed all my other tv's recordings and this is all I have: http://prntscr.com/2a1568

Thank you

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by juusso » Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:56 am

you dont need reformat usb if it is already fat32.
root directory is the main directory on USB. There is no directories actually, root is first place where you arrive when open it :-)
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

Threshold
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:33 am

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Threshold » Tue Dec 10, 2013 7:39 am

juuso wrote:you dont need reformat usb if it is already fat32.
root directory is the main directory on USB. There is no directories actually, root is first place where you arrive when open it :-)
Haha thanks I went through almost all thread and apparently I am the only one not knowing this.

Aemh anyways considering I cannot manage to connect my tv wireless (have no clue what this security key is and my isp hasn't been much helpful so far) I am unplugging my pc for each step...

Now i have installed Skype: do i actually need to create an account that logs me in or it's enough that just the app starts?

Thanks :)

Lordbyte
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Lordbyte » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:05 am

Threshold wrote:Now i have installed Skype: do i actually need to create an account that logs me in or it's enough that just the app starts?
What happened when you tried .. ?
Obviously one would try without account first, - and only when that failed one would try WITH an account.
The test will take you 3-5 minuts ... The wait for an answer here could take hours .. days :-)

Tell us your conclusions, so we may all learn :-)
I provide NO assistance by PM, unless absolutely necessary. Please ask questions in dedicated topics.

Threshold
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:33 am

Re: [How To] Get root access on F series

Post by Threshold » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:51 pm

Lordbyte wrote:
Threshold wrote:Now i have installed Skype: do i actually need to create an account that logs me in or it's enough that just the app starts?
What happened when you tried .. ?
Obviously one would try without account first, - and only when that failed one would try WITH an account.
The test will take you 3-5 minuts ... The wait for an answer here could take hours .. days :-)

Tell us your conclusions, so we may all learn :-)
I know, i know but I am very new to all this as you can see and i have read the warning that you can brick the tv so i am scared of pretty much attempting anything :D

In the meanwhile i have sorted the wireless problem so i am progressing...at my own pace :)

Post Reply

Return to “[F] Firmware”