Mainboard change F8500, EPPROM debug

This forum is for information related with F series hardware.
Post Reply

bogdan0
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:04 pm

Mainboard change F8500, EPPROM debug

Post by bogdan0 »

Hi

I am trying to install another mainboard on Plasma F8500 (the mainboard came from 64" and my TV is 60"). So far I have only audio and remote keys response.

Using the old mainboard that partially works I have some decrypted the EPPROM values to check/set the main settings.
(type, local set, tuner, region, rs232, watchdog, ...)

I have boot log via putty that maybe someone can have a look and suggest the issue and what to do. Help needed, please.

So far I can not access TDM. I see the log and I can input without any initial code but It ignores any of my input. Maybe the cable or TTL does not work and waiting a new one.

EEPROM reset tried two combinations but I do not have a method to check if I did ok.

Root install in blind did not work yet.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://ctrlv.it/id/42963/3640440846
PS51F8500 (from PN518500) T-FXPDEUC-1125 (from 1114.1) SamyGo, fixed HBOGO; Still learning this :D

bogdan0
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Mainboard change F8500, EPPROM debug

Post by bogdan0 »

I would really appreciate your help!

Hardware details:

I have two TVs 51" and 60 both F8500 and I like the picture quality.

Situation to solve: TV is still working with old mainboard which does not have CI card (US card) and network port is not working
Model TV: PN60F8500
Old mainboard: BN94-06205B, BN97-06633G, BN41-01998A (US card)
Mainboard to install: BN94-06205L, BN97-06633J, BN41-02044A (EU card from TV 64")
Mainboard used in tests before: BN94-06205A, BN97-06633C, BN41-01998A (US card from my TV 51")

Note:
Before I did this modification on same TV model 51" but here the installed mainboard was new and with settings for this panel size.
PN51F8500
Old mainboard: BN94-06205A, BN97-06633C, BN41-01998A (US card)
Installed mainboard: BN94-06205M, BN97-06633E, BN41-02044A (EU card for TV 51")
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://ctrlv.it/id/42963/3640440846
PS51F8500 (from PN518500) T-FXPDEUC-1125 (from 1114.1) SamyGo, fixed HBOGO; Still learning this :D

bogdan0
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Mainboard change F8500, EPPROM debug

Post by bogdan0 »

Progress:

1. In the meantime I studied and found out that on this TV the "main" board is unified with the "logic" board.
The "logic board" is in part responsible for the link between the main board and the panel.

2. There is a Samsung service bulletin ASC20150408001 about another issue but the interesting part was that they created bin file for update of EEPROM of this logic board.

In this bulletin they mention the file "PN60F8500 Logic_60.bin" for upload to resolv another issue.

3. This is explaining a long time issue that I notice: In the settings in the service menu there is a line for selecting the panel diagonal (50, 60, ...) but then another line is written in the Control / PDP Option menu called "logical s / w" where I cannot select anything else.

=> Now I think here it takes over the setting from the EEPROM on the "logic" board which I suspect is "w25q16dv".
My EEPROM reader CH341A does not know the "w25q16dv".
I will look for a new EEPROM reader and then copy it from one board to another.
In this way the panel settings with tuner and CI card remain ok on the EEPROM on the "main board" where I have already adjusted the panel.
I hope it doesn't need a complete firmware because it doesn't work to make it blind.

I could not find the bin file for my TV to download so remain only to copy from my old board.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
https://ctrlv.it/id/42963/3640440846
PS51F8500 (from PN518500) T-FXPDEUC-1125 (from 1114.1) SamyGo, fixed HBOGO; Still learning this :D

teleplas
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:26 pm

Re: Mainboard change F8500, EPPROM debug

Post by teleplas »

Hi. New here.

Have you had any luck going from smaller to larger screen with main board?

Would like to use a board from another model as well. From 51" to 64."
It looks like you are able to select "type" (model) in service menu is that right? But, not the "logical s/w" part?

Sounds like these boards are very locked to each model which is sad.

Post Reply

Return to “[F] Hardware”