EEPROM PN51F8500

This forum is for information related with F series hardware.
Post Reply

Moonchilde
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 6:56 am

EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by Moonchilde » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:21 pm

Can anyone help me find it? Let me know what information you need and I will provide it. Pictures, whatever. I'm not sure exactly what chip I'm looking for, the only one I know for sure is the power control chip. There are several other chips that are identical, and 2 unique chips. All look similar to the IC's that are EEPROMs on other models.

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 9775
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by juusso » Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:45 pm

look for 8pin chips where is label ATMEL or maybe some letters with digits. Or better you post here all the labels of 8pin chips. Sure high resolution photos are welcome.
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

Moonchilde
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 6:56 am

Re: EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by Moonchilde » Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:55 pm

Chip A: Z3011PI
Image

Chip B: Z1360AI
Image

Chip C: G2992B
Image

Chip D: P1J8G4
Image

Chip E: P249G4
Image

Mainboard with chips labled
Image

Sorry the mainboard one is kind of shitty, but it's the best I was able to get it. The others are fairly good I think. If you have any questions let me know.

Chip C is actually a power control chip, so I don't think that's EEPROM ;) Don't need to worry about that one but I included it anyway. Chip A I think is another type of control chip, I forgot exactly what it was but there are 5 of them for a control purpose and I do not think they are EEPROM related. So that leaves the other 3 chips, all which are unique.

Edit: So sorry the images do not fit in the page, lol. Right click them and open in a new tab please, then you can see the full ones. If this is a problem let me know and I will fix it :) Thank you again.

Moonchilde
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 6:56 am

Re: EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by Moonchilde » Fri Aug 01, 2014 10:17 pm

I also don't know if this means anything or not, but the mainboard has a ribbon cable that has a pinout labeled as such:
Image

This cable then connects to another board at the bottom of the TV that has more IC's on it. Does this mean it's possible the IC is on another board and not the main one for EEPROM? As you can see, there are solder points labeled EEPROM SDA, EEPROM SCL, and EEPROM WP, pins 72, 73, and 74 respectively according to the service manual. Unfortunately the service manual does not include any PCB schematics (my old Sony one did, what a shame) for this particular TV.

Moonchilde
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 6:56 am

Re: EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by Moonchilde » Fri Aug 01, 2014 11:22 pm

Ok, I managed to get an image of the other IC on the F board that the ribbon with the pinout marked EEP SDA connects to.

Image

Ah, a google search of the chip # brings up EEPROM CMOS and here is the datasheet. http://pdf.datasheetcatalog.com/datashe ... 655_DS.pdf

Looks like pins 8 and 5 or 5 and 4 need connected. I will wait for your feedback before testing. If this is the right chip then let's update the wiki.

Thanks again in advance.

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 9775
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by juusso » Sun Aug 03, 2014 9:42 am

Yes, i completely agree, ATMEL S24C32 is our target. No doubts.
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

Moonchilde
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 6:56 am

Re: EEPROM PN51F8500

Post by Moonchilde » Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:37 pm

Ok, so an update on this. The S24C32 is definitely not the right chip for an EEPROM reset. I soldered wires to pins 5 and 8 and shorting the chip does not reset any service menu or any other menu settings otherwise. I tried 5 and 4 as well and no go.

I ordered a replacement main board (it wasn't THAT expensive so I didn't mind plus I had paypal money stocked up) and when I booted the TV it had all the settings that were stored in the new main board. All the service settings were default and I changed RS232 to Debug from UART, turned the TV off, shorted the S24C32, turned the TV on and it booted as normal. Service setting that I changed on the new board from UART to Debug was still set to Debug.

Either, I am not shorting the chip right (which I doubt) or it isn't the right chip. So, back to trying to find the right chip. Any ideas? I have my original board to test stuff out on so we can find out.

Post Reply

Return to “[F] Hardware”