Skype app will not be available

General Forum talking area for H series TVs.

khunsteve
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 4:54 am

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by khunsteve »

mihd, you are truly a star, thanks so much!

drasel
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:01 am

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by drasel »

Ok thank you very much. Has anyone been able to translate the russian instructions? Would be great if someone could do so for all of us.
I need it for the H series.

andrii
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by andrii »

drasel wrote:Ok thank you very much. Has anyone been able to translate the russian instructions? Would be great if someone could do so for all of us.
I need it for the H series.
Instructions for H-series
(Google Translate)

(If you do not have Skype on your TV, the first two steps are skipped)
1. Remove the older version of Skype.
2. Turn off the TV (from the power outlet!!!) and wait until the light goes off on the front panel. Turn on the TV.
3. Insert the USB flash drive with InstallSkype folder.
4. View SmartHub and run the widget "Install Skype" (If the widget does not appear ? turn off the TV, insert a USB flash drive, turn on the TV).
5. Press the button "Enter" on the remote and wait (the last 3 lines should be with "Ok" at the end).
6. Press the "Exit", go to the TV menu and check the option System ? > General ? > Instant start. If it is ? Off.
7. Turn off the TV (from the power outlet !!!) and wait until the light goes off on the front panel. Remove the USB flash drive.
8. Turn on the TV, run Skype .
Strictly follow the installation instructions!

TheRealTomTom
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:49 am

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by TheRealTomTom »

mihd wrote:InstallSkype for H-series
Updated 04.07.2016

Skype for TV with fw T-GFP (with Skype_2014_140807, GOLFP_4.400_empSkype_VER_4.140426 and GOLFP_4.400_empCamera_VER_4.150303)
Skype for TV with fw T-MST14,T-GFS (with Skype_2014_140807, GOLFS_X14_4.400_empSkype_VER_4.140408 and GOLFS_NT14U_X14_4.400_empCamera_VER_4.150303)
Skype for TV with fw T-NT14U (with Skype_2014_140807, NT14U_4.400_empSkype_VER_4.140523 and GOLFS_NT14U_X14_4.400_empCamera_VER_4.150303)

InstallSkype for E,F-series
I just tried to download the first Zip file and it said it contained a virus, so then would not download.
Is this the case?

Also which version do I actually need? I have the UE48H7000. Any help gratefully received.

Tom

TheRealTomTom
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:49 am

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by TheRealTomTom »

knightz124 wrote:Hi mihd ,

I know there is no support for the SEK-2000 so I am not asking for any BUT, I would like to give some feed back and to say a massive thank you for your hard work and to let you know that the version 3 firmware Skype for TV with fw T-GFP actually works for me whilst I'm in the App.

The only thing that doesn't work properly in v3 is if I'm watching TV with skype in the background and I get a call it just stays on the loading page, but if I go into the app on its own everything is perfect, this is not a massive issue, at least I know there is a call coming, thanks again!!

My TV is UE46ES8000 with SEK-2000. - FW: T-ECPGDEUT-1040.2, TB-GFPDEUC-1040.2, Equivalent to the "H" series
I have disabled firmware updates at the router level as was greyed out in the engineers menu.
Being a middle ground user of all these things do you need to disable firmware updates? My TV is literally out the box set up for networking (have det up the picture quality).

mihd
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:38 pm

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by mihd »

TheRealTomTom wrote: I just tried to download the first Zip file and it said it contained a virus, so then would not download.
Is this the case?
Also which version do I actually need? I have the UE48H7000. Any help gratefully received.
Tom
Set the normal anti-virus, and do not confuse people.
"Menu->Support->Contact Samsung" - find out firmware here (T-GFP, T-MST14, T-GFS or T-NT14U)
TV: Samsung UE40F6330AK (FW: T-MST12DEUC-1119.0 2014-02-22 / SamyGO) + HDD 1Tb 2,5" (TOSHIBA MQ01ABD1);
TV: Philips 26PF4311 + Cable TV Receiver LATEL LC-808HD (with NFS client, DLNA - n/a, Samba - n/a);
Router: Netgear WNDR3800 (FW: OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09-beta2) + HDD 1Tb 2,5" (SEAGATE Expansion STBX1000201) (with NFS,DLNA and Samba servers).

TheRealTomTom
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:49 am

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by TheRealTomTom »

Hello,

Sorry, not trying to confuse people, I am just confused myself.

I am running windows 7 with Microsoft Security Essentials. I am not saying what you have is a virus, I am just asking why it might be getting blocked by my browser and anti-virus.

I have found that I have the T-MST14 firmware. Which then relates to the other question, do I need to block the TV from automatically updating the firmware, and do you need to do that in the router.

Thanks for all the hard work and I promise I am not trying to be rude, or problematic! I am just trying to get Skype back on the TV like many other people and just getting a few error messages along the way.

Tom

mihd
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:38 pm

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by mihd »

TheRealTomTom wrote: Which then relates to the other question, do I need to block the TV from automatically updating the firmware, and do you need to do that in the router.
Here all information about blocking of firmware update.
TV: Samsung UE40F6330AK (FW: T-MST12DEUC-1119.0 2014-02-22 / SamyGO) + HDD 1Tb 2,5" (TOSHIBA MQ01ABD1);
TV: Philips 26PF4311 + Cable TV Receiver LATEL LC-808HD (with NFS client, DLNA - n/a, Samba - n/a);
Router: Netgear WNDR3800 (FW: OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09-beta2) + HDD 1Tb 2,5" (SEAGATE Expansion STBX1000201) (with NFS,DLNA and Samba servers).

User avatar
notengo13
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:31 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by notengo13 »

TheRealTomTom wrote:Hello,

Sorry, not trying to confuse people, I am just confused myself.

I am running windows 7 with Microsoft Security Essentials. I am not saying what you have is a virus, I am just asking why it might be getting blocked by my browser and anti-virus.

I have found that I have the T-MST14 firmware. Which then relates to the other question, do I need to block the TV from automatically updating the firmware, and do you need to do that in the router.

Thanks for all the hard work and I promise I am not trying to be rude, or problematic! I am just trying to get Skype back on the TV like many other people and just getting a few error messages along the way.

Tom
C:\> format c:\$indows
install anyLinuxYouWant and have more fun.

In Service menu in your TV set OTN Support = OFF, Watchdog = OFF and if you found also OTA Support = OFF
UE48H6640 T-MST14DEUC 2781.0 root latestH --> 2130.0 skypeRoot-->0000-->2115.3 "Skype refueled" Root

TheRealTomTom
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:49 am

Re: Skype app will not be available

Post by TheRealTomTom »

mihd wrote:
TheRealTomTom wrote: Which then relates to the other question, do I need to block the TV from automatically updating the firmware, and do you need to do that in the router.
Here all information about blocking of firmware update.
Final question, for this Skype .zip to work do I need to block the firmware? Or will it work until they update the firmware again?

Thanks so much

Post Reply

Return to “[H] General”