Page 1 of 1

ExLink cable / port for H series ???

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 9:40 pm
by thor
Hello,

I read many times, that it's recommended to have an ExLink access to TV in order to unbrick it ...
But for my H series UE48H6270, I couldn't find anything helpful how to accomplish this access :-(
I found some information that serial access is still working somehow with H, but w/o info how to do it: But my TV neither has a VGA port, nor a service port (at least I couldn't find it).
Therefore I have two questions:
  1. Is it still recommended/useful to have ExLink, esp. for H series?
  2. If yes, which hardware is necessary, and where to connect it on the TV?
PS: I received information via PM related to UE48H8000AT (thanks Alex): this model has the normal 3.5mm "stereo" jack ExLink port, see below. Unfortunately I've a H6 model, without this port :(
UE48H8000AT ExLink port photo + instructionsShow
Image 3.5mm "stereo" jack ExLink port between the HDMI port and USB ports
Image Cable is simple. No need to convert levels
Thanks!
#Tags: Ex-Link cable ExLink VGA RS232 serial communication TDM Top Debug Menu

Re: ExLink cable / port for H series ???

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:43 pm
by sectroyer
You can ONLY try using exlink via usb, good luck :)

Re: ExLink cable / port for H series ???

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:47 pm
by thor
sectroyer wrote:
Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:43 pm
You can ONLY try using exlink via usb, good luck :)
Has anybody done this successfully, i.e. connecting a USB-to-RS232 stick to the TV-USB port, and then having the Top Debug Menu on that serial port???

I read that s.o. wanted to use the same approach to do some home automation, and he probably would be quite angry if suddenly there are a lot of log/error messages on that port, instead of his own automation instructions.

My point of view regarding this approach: 100% for sure there is at least on the mainboard an ExLink port somewhere, and the "TDM" process which is responsible for the Top Debug Menu and the log messages is already connected to that internal serial port.
If I now connect a 2nd serial port to the system, I'm very suspicious that Samsung will launch a 2nd instance of the TDM process which connects to my new 2nd port ... ??? Or that the existing process notice that there is a 2nd port, and magically outputs to both ports and reads from both ports???