H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Support for C series TVs that all user could ask. Please do not ask a questions at other forums.

mxyzptlk
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by mxyzptlk » Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:26 pm

erdem_ua wrote:Do you try video as untouched (copy) and re-encode sound part with using CBR codecs? It might solve the issue too with much more speed!
That's clever, I hadn't thought of that. I'm moving at the moment, but will try that with the same video file in avidemux and on the command line, and post the results.

If it works that would be faster, but I'd love to figure out what's choking in the TV itself.

Plus, I see there's already 200 views of this post, and I've seen people with similar issues post both on these forums and elsewhere. If you've experienced the same problem, maybe let others know by posting the specs of an out-of-sync video that is only out of sync when played back via USB on your Samsung. With more data, maybe we can pin down just what it is that the television is having a hard time handling.

User avatar
erdem_ua
SamyGO Admin
Posts: 3097
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Contact:

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by erdem_ua » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:00 am

Generally, audio/video un-sych because of VBR sound... I thought converting it to MP3 CBR might solve the issue completely.
Good luck.

mxyzptlk
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by mxyzptlk » Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:25 pm

I tried converting just the audio of an mp4 file in avidemux to the following:
  • ac3 (aften) -- no luck (avi container)
  • ac3 (lav) -- no luck (avi container)
  • aac -- no luck (mp4 and mkv containers)
  • mp3 -- luck (mp4 container)
It took about 30 minutes or so to re-encode the audio for a 2 gb file, and it would lose sync when skipping or fast-forwarding/rewinding, but it would re-sync in a second or three.

The common denominator here is the h.264 codec; the xvid codec doesn't lose sync, but h.264 does with a variety of audio codecs. A two-pass re-encode takes care of that, and I'm guessing that transcoding with an mp3 audio codec works because mp3 doesn't have as much overhead as ac3/aac. So it seems to be something with how the television processes h.264 video files, and I'd love to know what that is and if firmware could fix the issue.

User avatar
erdem_ua
SamyGO Admin
Posts: 3097
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Contact:

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by erdem_ua » Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:40 am

It's weird.. Really. Might be it's just CPU bottleneck... Thats all.

mxyzptlk
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by mxyzptlk » Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:11 pm

I've also found that re-encoding with constant quality mode in Handbrake works, but 2-pass is more accurate. Using constant quality also takes a long time.

I just wonder if there are any adjustments to be made to the television that could widen that bottleneck. I could transcode audio to mp3, but that takes nearly 2/3 the time of re-encoding with 2 passes. This just feels like something that could be fixed with a setting switch, if only one knew which setting it was.

njsantos73
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:18 pm

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by njsantos73 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:21 pm

I found out that the out of sync problem is also in the 2013 F Series. I have a 40F6400 that also has this problem only with the mp4 format (and not all of them)

starslicer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:16 pm

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by starslicer » Sat Jun 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Yeah I got a brand new 6 Series 6300 with these sync issues. No problems playing MKVs on computers but the TV the audio ahead of the video by about 1 second. Adjusting the delay doesn't help either. I've tried Twonky and PS3 Media player on my NAS drive and also USB right into the TV itself. They all do the same thing on that TV.

lgehlsen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 5:23 pm

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by lgehlsen » Sat May 31, 2014 5:34 pm

Hello all,
so I'm confused.
This is a TV issue - not the player used to play the h.264 files?
that would make sense, since several media players, including my ps3 have this issue, but how the heck does the dummy terminal have the ability to de-sync the file being played by a media converter from my external hard drives.
and why the heck do people still use this stupid h.264 format then.
it doesn't save that much file size - less than 10% and just isn't that robust if a tv manufacturer has this issue with it...
POOP!
Thanks for listening to my rant.
been dealing with this for years, but usually just try to find xvid formatted shows instead - getting much harder to do for newer shows tho...

Rochian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:27 pm

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by Rochian » Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:32 pm

I have this problem on a ue40h6400. :-( Firmware update didn't fix IT.

sectroyer
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 5648
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 5:10 pm

Re: H.264 Audio/Video Sync Issues

Post by sectroyer » Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:15 am

h264 is superb and let's save MUCH MORE than 10% :)
I do NOT support "latest fw" at ALL. If you have one you should block updates on router and wait for it to STOP being "latest":)
If you want me to help you please paste FULL log(s) to "spoiler"/"code" bbcodes or provide link(s) to pasted file(s) on http://ctrlv.it/ Otherwise "NO HELP"!!!
If you want root DISABLE internet access to your device!!!!
DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE !!!!

Post Reply

Return to “[C] Support”