How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

This is general talk area for things that NOT RELATED WITH TV! Instead, about internal works like web site, forum, wiki, or talking, etc...
Post Reply

smart_lover
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:11 am

How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by smart_lover »

How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript inside widget?
I am seeking for a way to send my desired commands(I want to run these commands in shell with helps of widget) to my widget.
I DO not want to telnet to TV from remote, Instead I want to be able to send these commands from remote web application to my widget and make my widget to run those commands locally.
Lordbyte
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by Lordbyte »

Touching "micom" is basically the sure way to brick your TV ..

Unless you know exactly what you are doing, and have the correct firmware-file .. You are about to kill your TV.

The ONLY reason I can come up with for such a "widget" would be to destroy other peoples TV.

Thus, - This functionality would be quite nice for a virus- or malware-programmer :-)

Please tell me you are not a virus- or malware-programmer :-)

And even if you are one of "the good guys" what on earth would require you to update micom-code more than ONCE in a lifetime ?

A widget for that purpose seems WAY overkill, and then we are back to this issue:

In my personal optics .. Only a malware or a virus would need to "automate" this process of writing to micom firmware.

Maybe you could explain your request a bit better .... ?

Best regards
LordByte
I provide NO assistance by PM, unless absolutely necessary. Please ask questions in dedicated topics.
smart_lover
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:11 am

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by smart_lover »

Lordbyte wrote:Touching "micom" is basically the sure way to brick your TV ..

Unless you know exactly what you are doing, and have the correct firmware-file .. You are about to kill your TV.

The ONLY reason I can come up with for such a "widget" would be to destroy other peoples TV.

Thus, - This functionality would be quite nice for a virus- or malware-programmer :-)

Please tell me you are not a virus- or malware-programmer :-)

And even if you are one of "the good guys" what on earth would require you to update micom-code more than ONCE in a lifetime ?

A widget for that purpose seems WAY overkill, and then we are back to this issue:

In my personal optics .. Only a malware or a virus would need to "automate" this process of writing to micom firmware.

Maybe you could explain your request a bit better .... ?

Best regards
LordByte
You are completely wrong!

To be clear:
1:I am not a virus programmer at all!
2:I do not want to brick my TVs!

I just want to be able to reboot/shutdown my TV using ?micom reboot? and ?micom shutdown? from a remote distance inside a LAN.
Actually I have many TVs inside my LAN and I want to let a server application remotely shut those TVs down or reboot those for MAINTENANCE purposes only. I do not want to use any other functionalities of micom!

Is ?micom reboot? or ?micom shutdown? dangerous for TV?!

F.Y.I: I am already able to use 'micom reboot' with a telnet connection to my TVs, But I want to be able to reboot my TVs in case of if one of them is in crash state and do not response correctly to telnet connection.
wluczykijwf
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:07 pm
Location: Poland

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by wluczykijwf »

@smart_lover, Not possible execute this command via javascript.
I use php script. It is short description how use it.
sorry for my english
UE40F8000 (T-FXPDEUC-1136.0), BD-D5500
Lordbyte
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:07 pm

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by Lordbyte »

@Smart_Lover,

Sorry dude, my bad ...

I was thinking about all the posts on this forum where people describe how they bricked their TV
by fooling around with the MICOM menuitem in the extended service-menu.

Friends ? :-)
I provide NO assistance by PM, unless absolutely necessary. Please ask questions in dedicated topics.
smart_lover
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:11 am

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by smart_lover »

Lordbyte wrote:@Smart_Lover,

Sorry dude, my bad ...

I was thinking about all the posts on this forum where people describe how they bricked their TV
by fooling around with the MICOM menuitem in the extended service-menu.

Friends ? :-)
NP dude!
smart_lover
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:11 am

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by smart_lover »

wluczykijwf wrote:@smart_lover, Not possible execute this command via javascript.
I use php script. It is short description how use it.
Many thanks!! Your suggested way helps me a lot.
I'll test it and submit result here.
Last edited by smart_lover on Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
smart_lover
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 6:11 am

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by smart_lover »

wluczykijwf wrote:@smart_lover, Not possible execute this command via javascript.
I use php script. It is short description how use it.
It works perfectly. Thank you very much for your helpful solution.
But why we have to reboot TV after copying PHP file and SH scripts?
Last edited by smart_lover on Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10129
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by juusso »

Maybe you have to do 'sync' after copy?

Btw, sharing your scripts is welcome. Might be useful for someone. Tx.
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE
wluczykijwf
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:07 pm
Location: Poland

Re: How can I run 'micom reboot' command in javascript?

Post by wluczykijwf »

smart_lover wrote:[...] It works perfectly. Thank you very much for your helpful solution.
But why we have to reboot TV after copying PHP file ans SH scripts?
It is required for root on E/F series. PHP server get data from /dtv/www/phpsysinfo. The directory is removed when TV is reboot. The directory with stuff is copy form /mnt/phpsysinfo.
sorry for my english
UE40F8000 (T-FXPDEUC-1136.0), BD-D5500

Post Reply

Return to “General”