Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Here is information about customize your F series firmware.

Zlatan79
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:00 am

Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by Zlatan79 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:58 am

Hi, I recently bought the european TV Samsung UE42F5500 and later on I bought the american version of the Samsung camera VG-STC3000/ZA because the european version (VG-STC3000/XC) doesn?t support the hand motion control.

The american box of the camera STC3000, clearly specify that the hand motion control works with TV models F5500 among others.

My surprise was that once I used the american camera in my european TV, I realized that the hand motion control had to be turned on through the TV menu of the ?Smart Features? and not through a specific menu related only to the camera as I thought. So, the camera works properly in Skype, but looks like that the motion control feature is missing in the European TV?s (although in the e-manual appears there!!). I don?t understand how the hell the Samsung guys were able to do such a thing, it?s a huge discrimination! While an american guy can enjoy his american UN42F5500 TV + VG-STC3000/ZA camera with motion control, and european guy has just to wish that he could bought a non EU TV? it?s a nonsense.

So, does anybody knows why happens this? Is there a kind of "firmware solution" to activate the hand motion control feature?

Thank you for your kind attention.

klarya
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by klarya » Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:36 pm

i have seen an option in service menue where you can enable this. EU Version (Germany) and option was not visible till i enabled it, now it's greyed out, but might work.

i have an f6500 model, but i wasn't sure if it might also then work. will try to buy a cam from amazon, to test it and if not will send it back.
UE55F6500updated FW 1116.0 rooted with working latest Testbuild SamyGo Extensions

Zlatan79
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by Zlatan79 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:02 pm

Wow! This is very interesting! How did you managed to enable this option?

klarya
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by klarya » Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:56 am

via service menue ;-)
but i still have no cam
UE55F6500updated FW 1116.0 rooted with working latest Testbuild SamyGo Extensions

Zlatan79
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by Zlatan79 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:11 am

By "service menu" you mean the menu of "Support" I guess (the last icon, green color with "?")

There I have the options of: Remote Control / e-manual / Self diagnosis / Software update / User mode / Contact Samung

If I go to the "remot control" menu, I get a code to be used by the Samsung Call center in order to help you for some issue. You did it in this way? Otherwise, could you be more specific please?

Thank you again for your kind attention! :)

klarya
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:48 pm

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by klarya » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:31 pm

no i mean the real servicemenue. but be warned !!!!
wrong settings there may result in a broken tv.

maybe first google for service-menue for your tv-version

for me its:
turn off tv

than info -> menue -> mute then turn on. works with my remote that comes shiped with my tv. but also read, that you might have to use an older one from samsung
UE55F6500updated FW 1116.0 rooted with working latest Testbuild SamyGo Extensions

Zlatan79
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by Zlatan79 » Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:56 pm

Oh I see! Then this is a serious thing :P

So, I will wait you to buy the camera and test if it works or not!

I'm looking forward to know your answer :)

Zlatan79
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by Zlatan79 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 12:15 am

Well... I just could not resist to check it.... IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

I have a UE42F5500 TV, Firmware 1111 with camera STC3000/ZA and with the TV off I got into the service menu through INFO - MENU - MUTE - POWER, changed just the gesture control menu to "ON" (although I was so tempted to turn on also the "CAMERA Support" feature, but finally I did not do it) and after that, I turned off the TV and then turned on again with fingers crossed, wishing to do not brick the TV...

TV worked good, went to the Smart features menu... and there it was the MOTION CONTROL menu in grey color, I clicked on there, and appeared for just a second that the feature didn't worked, but then suddenly the camera turned on alone and the motion control cursor appeared in my TV! :) :)

It just works perfectly!!!

The only thing to consider is that I have the american version of the camera (STC3000/ZA), so, we should have a confirmation from somebody to use it with the European camera (STC3000/XC) to know if it works for other users tranquility! ;)

I'm so glad that I finally can enjoy the camera for the purpose I bought it for, although I still keep thinking why the hell the Samsung guys had to turn off this option JUST for EU TV's... It makes no sense...

michuPL
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by michuPL » Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:36 am

Europen version of camera wokrs fine (VG-STC3000/XC). You just need to change in service menu for motion control. My TV : UE55F6440. Now I can change channels by hand moves ;) Thanks U all!
Maybe someone knows where can I find correct value of "Front Color" of RMT Options in service menu. I accidentally change it. TV works fine but I would prefer change it to orginal value. Thx!

pmdci
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: Why hand motion control doesn't work for EU TV's?

Post by pmdci » Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:09 pm

Hi there,

I got a H6700 and I am willing to try this on tonight.

However the main reason I got the camera is for face recognition. Could someone tell me if there is a way to turn this option on at the engineering menu?

Thanks!
P.

Post Reply

Return to “[F] Firmware”