Samba server

Here for general support for B series TVs, request and problem solve area.

RakDrak
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 am

Samba server

Post by RakDrak »

Iam interested to run SAMBA server on tv for share USB disk connected to tv.
I already have ftp and EXT3. Unfortunately SamyGO extensions is more focused on mounting shares to tv. Samba server in there is not working for me.
I found this thread
forum.samygo.tv/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=144&p=1156&hilit=nmbd#p1156
but it seams to be dead. Dead with solution also, because files links with Samba server are dead.

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: Samba server

Post by arris69 »

RakDrak wrote:Iam interested to run SAMBA server on tv for share USB disk connected to tv.
I already have ftp and EXT3. Unfortunately SamyGO extensions is more focused on mounting shares to tv. Samba server in there is not working for me.
I found this thread
forum.samygo.tv/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=144&p=1156&hilit=nmbd#p1156
but it seams to be dead. Dead with solution also, because files links with Samba server are dead.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/samygo/ ... p/download
here is samba server included...

hth

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Samba server

Post by juusso »

You should start with posting your tv model and firmware first.
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

RakDrak
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Samba server

Post by RakDrak »

Thx Arris69 but iam not interested to run whole SamyGO extensions just because Samba server.
In the fact, I extracted Samba server files from SG extensions and try run it:

Code: Select all

smbd
smb.conf
Library files:

Code: Select all

libcrypt.so.1
libnsl.so.1
libpopt.so.0
libz.so.1
and script:

Code: Select all

06_05_samba-server.init
Here is smb.conf:

Code: Select all

global]
wins support = no
unix charset = UTF-8
dos charset = UTF-8
display charset = UTF-8

# set workgroup etc
include = /mtd_rwarea/smb.conf
workgroup = WORKGROUP
netbios name = Samsung-TV
server string = Some Server

load printers = no
printing = bsd
printcap name = /dev/null
disable spoolss = yes
guest account = root
guest ok = yes
guest only = yes
null passwords = yes
smb passwd file = /dtv/pp

[Samsung TV]
  comment = USB Drives on TV
  path = /dtv/usb/
  public = yes
  writable = yes
#  valid users = zsolt	
And script

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#
# ? Copyright 1996-2011, ZsoltTech.Com
#       by Ser Lev Arris <arris@ZsoltTech.Com>
#
#       donated for the SamyGo Project
#       http://samygo.sourceforge.net/
#
#       Version: SamyGO svn $Id: 06_05_samba-server.init.dis 1194 2011-10-02 08:40:48Z arris69 $
#

#. /dtv/SGO.env
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/mtd_rwarea/SamyGO/exe/lib
	# export TMPDIR=/dtv

case $1 in 
	start)
	echo "root:0:NO PASSWORDXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:NO PASSWORDXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:[NU         ]:LCT-00000000:" > /dtv/pp

	./smbd -s /mtd_rwarea/SamyGO/smb.conf --lockdir=/dtv --piddir=/dtv --private-dir=/dtv
	;;
	stop)
	echo "do it somehow"
	;;
	status)
	pidof smbd
	;;
	*)
	echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop|status}" 1>&2
	exit 0
	;;
esac
Server is running fine, but:
1, none of Windows PC (Vista, Windows 7) see Samsung TV
2, After Port scan over my Android tablet, I see open ports 139 netbios-ssn and 445 microsoft-ds. When I try open 445 port, Iam asked for login. root with or without password doesnt working.

RakDrak
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Samba server

Post by RakDrak »

My model is
LE40B650T2W
Firmware
T-CHL7DEUC - 2005.0
with Autoloader for extra exeDSP plugins and EXT3 support

User avatar
juusso
SamyGO Moderator
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Samba server

Post by juusso »

RakDrak wrote:Server is running fine, but:
1, none of Windows PC (Vista, Windows 7) see Samsung TV
you should go over direct way:

Code: Select all

\\IP_of_tv
This samba server isn`t visible and discoverable.
LE40B653T5W,UE40D6750,UE65Q8C
Have questions? Read SamyGO Wiki, Search on forum first!
FFB (v0.8), FFB for CI+ . Get root on: C series, D series, E series, F series, H series. rooting K series, exeDSP/exeTV patches[C/D/E/F/H]

DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE

RakDrak
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Samba server

Post by RakDrak »

ok, so I can connect tv from windows this way, but same problem, login where user root doesnt working. Any idea?

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: Samba server

Post by arris69 »

RakDrak wrote:ok, so I can connect tv from windows this way, but same problem, login where user root doesnt working. Any idea?
your "extraction" procedure had some "errors in design".

why you not simple disable the services what you don't need in the extensions pack?

just my 2?

RakDrak
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Samba server

Post by RakDrak »

I tried to disable all services (all starting scripts in SamyGO\etc\init.d\ renamed to *.dis) except 06_05_samba-server.init
Then run SamyGO extensions from CL, but with same result. Iam asked in Windows for login. I tried log in with user root, no way.

arris69
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 1700
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:52 am
Location: Austria/Vienna (no Kangaroos here)
Contact:

Re: Samba server

Post by arris69 »

RakDrak wrote:I tried to disable all services (all starting scripts in SamyGO\etc\init.d\ renamed to *.dis) except 06_05_samba-server.init
Then run SamyGO extensions from CL, but with same result. Iam asked in Windows for login. I tried log in with user root, no way.
the 06_05_samba-server.init is now original one from extensions pack?

maybe set workgroup to same name as on your pc.

Post Reply

Return to “[B] Support”