NEW MEMBER AND A NEW BD-E6100 TO HACK

arcadian2002

NEW MEMBER AND A NEW BD-E6100 TO HACK

Post by arcadian2002 »

Hi Guys,
My name is Ian and I am brand new to this great forum, I have a UK region 2, BD-E6100 that i would like to make region free, for no other reason than I would like to attempt the challenge, I have taken the time to read over a few times other threads regarding this matter so may thanks to those that participated in the help and information their in.
I have had a look at the motherboard to see if i could identify a UART header which I have, an image of this header is attached (see below).
PLEASE NOTE,
while i have been able to determine that the pin I have labelled as pin 4 is indeeded ground, pins 1,2,3 all show a 3.1volt output to my multi meter. When I attached my pc's RX to pin3 Rx (NO CROSSOVER) I was able to both see an echo in PuTTY
and watch garbage displayed as the player booted up, I thefore am unsure about the pinouts involved, I would therfore be gratfull if someone could update me on this aspect, at which time I will also make any alterations to the uploaded image of the UART header.

Using a single usb to rs232 TTL Bt boart with a C2102 chip set I was able to connect to the Header but only garbage was brought back to Putty, hyperteminal, and using Netcat in CMD brought back NO DATA.
So I have given up on that device and purchased 2x DKU5 Cables which I first intend to make into a EX-LINK cable in the hope that I can connect via usb ports, if that fails I will attempt the Uart header again using just one of the DKU5 cables.

So that other do not make the same mistake, here is a link the usb board that did not work :-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320923619625? ... 1439.l2649

And the DKU5'S, these loaded the Prolific 64bit drivers as soon as they we pluged in, so cheap but fingers crossed looking good can be found here :-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350675765388? ... 1439.l2649