Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Ideas and dreaming will go this forum

miley
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:31 pm

Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by miley » Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:40 am

I have just bought a UE55F8000 TV and connected one of its 2 tuners to cable and the second to satellite.

Changing between cable mode and satellite mode is extremely unwieldy, needing about 6 keystrokes on the remote. Surely it would have been easy for Samsung to set tuner 1 and tuner 2 on separate buttons on the remote while operating in dual tuner mode. They could have used the A,B,C,D colour buttons or even the PVR control buttons. (When using in dual mode no recoding is possible).

I wonder whether something like this could be incorporated into SamyGo firmware.

An even more useful addition would be if somehow cable channels and satellite channels could be combined in a favourite list.

I am a newbie, so sorry if this is naive or if this thread is in the wrong place.

User avatar
erdem_ua
SamyGO Admin
Posts: 3098
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:02 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Contact:

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by erdem_ua » Thu Sep 19, 2013 3:00 am

Well, I don't have an satellite but using cable TV here. But I thought, TV could easily merge 2 tuner in same list since it's capable to merge Digital and Analog channels into same list.
But It looks it cannot merge satellite channels with cable channels.

Do you know "right hand rule" at physics? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right-hand_rule
We have a similar rule here, which is: Samsung is always sucks on software.

marder
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:24 am

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by marder » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:29 am

I have the same problem. My local cable provider emits some channels in DVB-C, others in DVB-T. Although they use the same tuner, my UE65F9080 insists on keeping the two sets of channels separate, having to change the antenna source in the configuration to switch for a set to the other.
Is there way to have the "cable" and "air" channel in a single list ?

samer
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:04 am

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by samer » Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:50 pm

Is possible any solution or is feature by (bad) hardware design?

How works other brands?

I want make 1 ch.list combined with dvbt and dvbs channels (because some channels i not have in dvbs), but with Samsung is = Impossible!
----D6100, i search YouTube app for mirroring from tablet (send me pm, many thx!)
....F6500 T-MST12DEUC ver.1119

zgregb
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:14 pm

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by zgregb » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:36 pm

Hi
A small question about antenna source.
Any one tried/know what exactly do keys :
"KEY_AUTO_ARC_ANTENNA_AIR = 211,
KEY_AUTO_ARC_ANTENNA_CABLE = 212,
KEY_AUTO_ARC_ANTENNA_SATELLITE = 213,"
It is possible to use it in RCremap to switch source ??
Or maybe there is a way to put something like :
TV-Air
TV-Sat
TV-Cab
in list of menu invoked by SOURCE key ???
zGreg

zoelechat
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 8300
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:32 pm
Location: France

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by zoelechat » Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:14 am

zgregb wrote:Any one tried/know what exactly do keys :
"KEY_AUTO_ARC_ANTENNA_AIR = 211,
KEY_AUTO_ARC_ANTENNA_CABLE = 212,
KEY_AUTO_ARC_ANTENNA_SATELLITE = 213,"
These keys are probably misnamed/outdated as they do nothing at all.
zgregb wrote:It is possible to use it in RCremap to switch source ??
The only key that exists/can be mapped to switch directly antenna is "KEY_ANTENA" and it switches only between air and cable (no sat).
zgregb wrote:Or maybe there is a way to put something like :
TV-Air
TV-Sat
TV-Cab
in list of menu invoked by SOURCE key ???
I don't think so, the only known way to switch between air/cable to sat is to use RCremap with CMD support launching a script that sends needed consecutive keys through SamyGOrc.
I do NOT receive any PM. Please use forum.

samer
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:04 am

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by samer » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:17 pm

Then not possible via standard RC? :-(
----D6100, i search YouTube app for mirroring from tablet (send me pm, many thx!)
....F6500 T-MST12DEUC ver.1119

sectroyer
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 5745
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 5:10 pm

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by sectroyer » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:24 pm

samer wrote:Then not possible via standard RC? :-(
Possible you only need libRCremap with CMD support. Then you switch tuners using SINGLE STANDARD RC KEY :)
I do NOT support "latest fw" at ALL. If you have one you should block updates on router and wait for it to STOP being "latest":)
If you want me to help you please paste FULL log(s) to "spoiler"/"code" bbcodes or provide link(s) to pasted file(s) on http://ctrlv.it/ Otherwise "NO HELP"!!!
If you want root DISABLE internet access to your device!!!!
DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE !!!!

samer
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:04 am

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by samer » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:29 pm

Sorry? Please explain, how is possible switch by one push?

Any change of any library inside filesystem?

Ps: on enigma2 is not problem in one channel list dvbs dvbt dvbc ...
----D6100, i search YouTube app for mirroring from tablet (send me pm, many thx!)
....F6500 T-MST12DEUC ver.1119

zoelechat
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 8300
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:32 pm
Location: France

Re: Combing Cable and Satellite Tuners

Post by zoelechat » Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:29 pm

sectroyer wrote:
samer wrote:Then not possible via standard RC? :-(
Possible you only need libRCremap with CMD support. Then you switch tuners using SINGLE STANDARD RC KEY :)
As explained above. Probably not "impossible" theoretically, it would be needed to hook switch to sat function to one key, but for now there's no patch to do so. :)
I do NOT receive any PM. Please use forum.

Post Reply

Return to “[F] Brainstorm”