Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

General forum talking area for J series TVs.
Post Reply

MvdL1979
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:40 pm

Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by MvdL1979 »

Hello all,

I have a quick question about the following 2 televisions: UE40J6250 & UE40J5580
I am looking to replace our current two televisions in the house with the mentioned two above.

However, I am leaning to buy them from an online shop in Germany, because it would save me about 200 Euro's per television.

The problem is, is that I have read there might be some problems with the CI+ in my country (Netherlands). The German versions are EU, while the ones sold in the Netherlands are Benelux versions (NL, BE, LUX).

Apparently the culprit is the last part of those television, for example: UE40J6250PXXN and UE40J6250WXXN

Anybody knows if this is true, if so, is there a way around it...?

Someone posted the following on a Dutch forum, but it's quite old and I don't even know if this works...
turn off tv
press info -> menu -> mute -> power on tv
then under option is a point locat set
Does this even work?

Sorry for all the questions, but I rather play it (a bit) safe, before buying these 2 televisions.
But saving 200 Euro per TV is a lot to ignore, right?!

I hope someone can clarify this. Thank you in advance.

revoka
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:59 pm

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by revoka »

Hi MvdL,

It's possible to change the country settings and therefore change the firmware settings to EU_Benelux on these new J models.

I have bought a UE40J6250 from Conrad in Germany and succesfully changed the local_set to EU_benelux and I am using the builtin DVB-S2 tuner with m y Canal Digitaal CI module to watch sat TV.
I also enabled PVR in the hidden menu so recording to any Harddrive connected to the USB extensions is possible too with this model.

The only thing is that with the normal info-menu-mute-power sequence you are entering the normal service menu in the J models and NOT the hidden service menu which contains the local_set

To reach this hidden service menu you need an IR-blaster or Logitech harmony remote to produce the Infrared sequence: INFO-FACTORY
When you enter this sequence after your TV powered on normal you will go directly into this hidden service menu.
There is enough info on using an IR-blaster with this .wav files which are also on SamyGO wiki.

After changing your local_set do a factory reset and start configuring your TV as a EU_Benelux model.

If you have any questions, just drop me a line :-)

MvdL1979
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by MvdL1979 »

Thank you for the reply revoka!

Highly appreciated. I do have a Logitech Harmoy Touch, so I should be able to achieve this.
Many thanks for confirming this.

Now I just hope the CI+ (Caiway) card will work with these TV's.

Regards,
Michel

oliverv
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:23 am

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by oliverv »

hey guys,

I was told OSCAM does not work yet on J models.

UE55JU6510 - Soft : T-HKMDEUC-1411.0 , BT-S
I'm in belgium would like to share the CE plus from telenet

Where is link for instructions to firmware this model with SamyGO ?

sectroyer
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 5976
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 5:10 pm

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by sectroyer »

oliverv wrote:hey guys,

I was told OSCAM does not work yet on J models.

UE55JU6510 - Soft : T-HKMDEUC-1411.0 , BT-S
I'm in belgium would like to share the CE plus from telenet

Where is link for instructions to firmware this model with SamyGO ?
No root, no oscam. Good luck :)
I do NOT support "latest fw" at ALL. If you have one you should block updates on router and wait for it to STOP being "latest":)
If you want me to help you please paste FULL log(s) to "spoiler"/"code" bbcodes or provide link(s) to pasted file(s) on http://ctrlv.it/ Otherwise "NO HELP"!!!
If you want root DISABLE internet access to your device!!!!
DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE !!!!

Menaced
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 6:37 pm

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by Menaced »

Hey revoka

Where can i find the PVR Option in the hidden Service menu?
I have also a ue40j6250!
Its a German Modell.

Thx

sectroyer
Official SamyGO Developer
Posts: 5976
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 5:10 pm

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by sectroyer »

No PVR. No option. Good luck :)
I do NOT support "latest fw" at ALL. If you have one you should block updates on router and wait for it to STOP being "latest":)
If you want me to help you please paste FULL log(s) to "spoiler"/"code" bbcodes or provide link(s) to pasted file(s) on http://ctrlv.it/ Otherwise "NO HELP"!!!
If you want root DISABLE internet access to your device!!!!
DO NOT EVER INSTALL FIRMWARE UPGRADE !!!!

Menaced
SamyGO Project Donor
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 6:37 pm

Re: Question about CI+ being compatible for UE40J6250 & UE40J5580

Post by Menaced »

Revoka wrote:
"I have bought a UE40J6250 from Conrad in Germany and succesfully changed the local_set to EU_benelux and I am using the builtin DVB-S2 tuner with m y Canal Digitaal CI module to watch sat TV.
I also enabled PVR in the hidden menu so recording to any Harddrive connected to the USB extensions is possible too with this modal"

??!

Post Reply

Return to “[J] General”